A Little Bit of This & That

The creativeness of a creative woman

My First Mixed Media Projects

Early Bird
~Mixed Media art has intrigued me here lately. They began to catch my eye as I have browsed Pinterest.

I haven’t played with paper crafting for a very long time, so I thought, “what the heck, I’ll give it a go.”

So I dragged out a bunch of my supplies (which by the way was no easy task considering everything was boxed up) and put on my creative cap. I looked over a few YouTube videos, browsed more art journal examples, grabbed a paint brush, paper, mod podge and away I went!

What I love the most about this type of “art” is there are no rules or constraints as to what you can or can’t do; what type of “media” you can or can’t use. It’s completely up to the creator and it’s perfect if you have a bunch of scrapbook supplies that need to be used! However, that is not to say I didn’t pick up a few new goodies that I thought I really really needed 🙂

Now mind you I am no “artist” – I don’t know all the ins and out about paint and texture and washes and all that “art” jargon………so I just experimented blending different colors, using a bit of water to wash out the color or blend colors. I tried different types of brushes, just whatever I thought might create what I had pictured in my mind.

The “Early Bird” is actually the 4th one I’ve made. The time consuming part was drawing out the cups, the bird, and the little clock hanging in the tree. I think I erased and redrew the bird shape a dozen times before I got it the way I wanted it. All in all I don’t think it turned out too bad.

The Flower Whimsy was created for my granddaughter Lilly to hang in her room. It is actually my very first mixed media project. I tried the technique of using bubble wrap to “stamp” the white circles to represent clouds. It is difficult to see in the pic, but the bottom flowers have centers with sparkly sticklers glue. Again, I drew out a template for the petals of the flowers and cut each one by hand. I used stamps for the stems and leaves.

Flower Whimsy
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2014 by in Mixed Media.
